Drug possession is a serious crime that occurs in Houston, TX. When you have a charge like that on your record, it can make your life complicated in so many ways. Imprisonment, loss of a job, possibly thousands of dollars in bail, lawyer fees, and much more. It affects your family too. Everyone gets hurt when faced with a drug possession charge. However, there are ways to avoid your civil liberties being taken away. There are some essential things you need to know if you or a loved one are facing these kinds of charges. The severity of your sentence depends on a few things.
The Type of Drug
Not all drugs are the same. Possession for some may determine how severe the charge is. A controlled (scheduled) drug is a substance that the government has decided to control. This is because it poses the risk of harmful abuse or risk. The state of Texas has divided the different drugs into different classes. In total, there are five.
- Schedule I – Drugs that possess a high risk of abuse. The most common one in Texas is marijuana. More examples are LSD, crack cocaine, heroin, and PCP. The drugs in this category are not to have any accepted medical use.
- Schedule II – The drugs that are most common in this category are cocaine, morphine, oxycodone, methylphenidate, and dextroamphetamine. They’re schedule II because they have a high risk of abuse but may have SOME safe and accepted medical use.
- Schedule III, IV, V – These have small amounts of harmful narcotic and non-narcotic drugs. The most common are codeine, diazepam, and alprazolam.
Penalties of Drug possession in Houston, TX
The quantity of the drugs in possession will significantly affect how severe your charge it. One of the most common drug possessions in Houston and Texas is for marijuana. At a minimum, it will warrant a class B misdemeanor. Possession of fewer than two ounces can result in 180 days in jail, along with a fine of up to $2,000. If you have between two and four ounces, the penalties can be up to 4,000 dollars, a year in jail, or a worst-case scenario, both. Of course, the charges will continue to increase with larger quantities.
Loss of Driver’s License
Another consequence of a drug possession charge is the risk of losing your driver’s license. If convicted you can lose your license for 180 days, you need to complete a fifteen-hour class for drug education, pay a $100 fee to reinstate your license, and you must obtain a financial responsibility insurance certificate. When you face a drug possession charge, you risk a lot, but ASAP Bail Bonds can help.
ASAP Bail Bonds is available 24/7 to support you and your family. We understand how stressful it can be, and we’re very familiar with the process and are willing to help you no matter what. You don’t have to sit in a jail cell the entire time. We’re committed to working hard and diligently to get you home and prepare your defense with an attorney from home. Give us a call at (713)-225-2727 to help you or your loved one with a drug possession charge.